Application Feedback

PhD_Wannabe01

Hey all,

So, first-time "Topic-creater" and majorly freaking out about the Fall 2017 application cycle.

I will be applying for admission into clinical psychology programs after taking a gap year (combination of choice and being accepted into a school that fit less with my interests than I had originally thought). I'm looking to get some input on my chances/what I should be improving on for next year's application cycle. 

Now, a bit about me...

I graduated from a great university in Montreal, Quebec with a cumulative GPA of 3.82 with my last 60-credits averaging more around 3.9-something. I was in honours psychology, so I have a thesis written (very strong according to my supervisor and professor). 

During my undergraduate career, I volunteered as a confederate for two semesters, in a neuroscience lab for one year, and was in a memory/forensics lab for two years (Y1. as a research assistant and Y2. as a research co-coordinator). All together, I have four conference presentations, three poster and one oral (from an elective course). Taking a gap year, I am currently also involved in neurosurgery/neuroscience research at one of Canada's top universities (where one of my conference presentations come from). Though it is not what I want to study, a letter from the faculty member at the university will most definitely NOT hurt my application.

As of now, I unfortunately do not have any publications, though I am marked as a collaborator in a lab mate's soon-to-be published textbook. 

I also have clinical experience. Namely, I hold weekly hours at the university's sexual assault centre (two years) and volunteer at an outpatient mental health facility (since the beginning of the summer). 

GRE scores =

• V = 156 (72%)
  • Q = 160 (76%)
  • AW = 6 (99%)
  • Psychology GRE = TBD as I will be writing the exam on October 29th. Any advice on preparing for that beast?