Co-authored writing samples?

polscimajor

Hi,

I'm curious about which paper I should submit as a writing sample

I currently have two candidates: one is a published article that was co-authored with a professor (I am the first author, but the journal is non-American, albeit pretty well-known in my country. I did hear though that American schools tend to discriminate against non-American journals...), and the other one is a paper that I am currently writing, solo-authored.

The first one is, needless to say, of slightly better quality. And the perk is that it's already a published one (although non-American) so it feels like I've had some real experience in research.

However, what worries me is that the article is co-authored, so maybe the adcom could attribute the work to the professor instead of me (which would really suck).

Should I then just submit the solo-authored working paper? What's the pros and cons?

I would really appreciate some help here. Thanks..

Edited by polscimajor

You can't and shouldn't submit a co-authored paper for a graduate school writing sample, as it isn't your work. Also, if the article is already published, then the committee can always look it up and read it if they want to.

Don't get tied in knots about the writing sample. They want something clearly written that shows a strong grasp of a political science/social science research topic and also how to explore it using modern social-scientific methods. It doesn't need to be a work of great insight or inspiration. That's the English Dept.

Saudiwin is right, also many schools stipulate in their admissions directions that you can't coauthor your writing sample.