Directing MFA Questions

KillerWingfield

Hey everyone. I know that the 2017 MFA application seasons will soon be upon us and I have, after several years of planning and plotting, finally decided that this year I am going to put myself out there and apply.

It fills me with a lot of anxiety, but mostly it's good excitement type of anxiety, so I am trying to capitalize on that.

I had some questions about MFA programs that I was hoping some of you folks who have been through the process before could help me work out as I gear myself up for my applications. Reading through the journey of the 2016 group has been immensely helpful and has pretty much answered all my big questions save one, so here it is.

I am a high school theatre teacher with a lot of directing credits, but very few from outside my own program. I have always been worried that this kind of experience would not be seen as good enough in the eyes of the grad schools I am interested in attending. I've always made an effort to really push the envelope in my program, but there really is only so much you can get away with in a high school. Reading through the bios that some of these schools have posted on their websites of their current MFA Directing students, I have yet to find any that were once high school teachers (or at least admitted to being them in their bios). This, obviously, fills me with much anxiety. In your experience is this something that most programs out there would turn their noses up to, or would they be open to giving me a shot?

Follow up question: I have thought about contacting some of these programs directly and asking them this same question, but I can't decide if that is a good or bad idea. Thoughts?