Letter of Recommendation from Professor whose class I didn't do that well in

Hey guys,

I'm really worried about my third letter of reccomendation. I'm a math student applying for stats grad programs, but I also study German and haven't taken a math class in a year, so I'm sort of short on potential letter writers who can speak to my ability to comprehend higher level material. I'm considering asking my grad-level Topology professor from last fall, but I'm really nervous about this. I got an A- in the course, which really isn't that good as grad courses tend be graded easier. Most worryingly, I had my worst ever exam result in this course. On the second midterm I did really badly. It was a take home exam and while I can't remember exactly what I got, it was easily below average, tending towards the bottom of our 20 person class. I did however do well on the first exam, score respectably on the final, which was also a take home exam, and go to office hours a decent amount, so he knows me and my work ethic.

Basically, my only other option is my complex analysis professor from last fall who essentially doesn't know me, but who I got a solid A from. 

Any thoughts?

I see that your location is Germany, if you are applying to US (or non German) schools, then I would go for a LOR from one of your German professors (assuming that the other 2 were from the math department), Doing it this way, you show yourself to be proficient in multiple areas, and that you are more than just a math geek.

if you are staying in Germany, then the A- from the topology professor might be a better option, the professor knows you, and would be able to write a better letter on your behalf.

BTW - where in Germany? My daughter was taking political science classes in Kassel over the summer, and is considering going back to Germany for her PhD.

1 hour ago, avflinsch said: