Mention Funding in Statement of Purpose?

IsThisNameAlreadyTaken

Question

Hello community,

I am a student from Germany and I plan on applying for graduate programs in the US. I am part of an academic organization and I will have guaranteed funding of a fixed 10,000 Euros per year plus 650 Euros each month (for a total period of up to two years).

My question now is if it is worthwhile mentioning this in the Statement of Purpose (I do not know where else I could mention it, if it all) - will this in anyway increase my chances of getting admitted?

I am also in the process of applying for another scholarship which would grant me another 20,000 Euros per year and an additional 400 Euros per month on top. But here I am still in the interviewing process, and a definite answer will not come in before next year (which would be after the application deadline for all programs). Is this even worth mentioning?

Thank you very much and all the best

2 answers to this question

Interesting question.

A bit of background as it applies to me - your sitiation is similar, but different.

I am a fulltime employee of the university that I am applying to for a PhD. I am currently in a master's program (as a prerequsite for the PhD) right now, and finished my undergrad at the same school. I am currently getting 50% of the tuition as a employee benefit, (it was 100% for my undergrad, and the first 3 terms in the masters, but I tipped over the salary cap for 100%, and now only get half). I have been chasing the dragon's tail with respect to the salary cap for a while, unfortunately I finally caught it. When the cap gets raised again, I will probably qualify for the 100% tuition again.