Low grade in First semester class, worried and depressed

I am an international student in a Biosciences PhD program in the US. Just received grades for my first semester classes and one of them is a C, while the rest are A-s and B+s. The course I received a C on has been really whopping me all semester and though I thought I did well enough in the final test to scrape a B-, the grade on it was still too low. It's one of the required courses for my program and is definitely relevant for all Bioscience students. I talked to my department and they said I'll be placed on an Academic probation next semester and as long as I don't get another C, I'll be fine. But my question is, how will this affect me long term? I'm still rotating and have just picked a lab where the PI is also interested in hiring me,  but I'm afraid this would make them reconsider.  That lab has a history of all their grad students getting their own funding (like, NRSA grants) after passing qualifiers so are low grades in the first semester going to be a big disadvantage for when I try? Worried and depressed. 

• 3 weeks later...

I am sure your low grade will not effect your chances to get a job. I have been to at least 10 interviews and may be 1 asked me for transcript.

But low grade might effect chances of getting funding in your studies. Can you take the course again ?