Atmospheric Science Masters hopeful scared of the future...

Aurorus

Hello fellow Earth Science friends,

With the new administration coming into power I have been worried about the future of Climate Science and Atmospheric Science in General. I am a nontraditional student who studied GIS Earth Sciences for my undergrad and now wants to change course and follow my dream of studying Weather and Climate. I don’t want my research to be called a hoax to the public. The lack of Science in today’s public minds worries me. I am working a 9 to 5 job now after college that sucks the life out of me and I came up with the idea to chase a Master’s degree (possibly PHD to Teach and do Research but that’s a ways in the future). I lack the Physics and Calculus cores to apply now but plan on taking a year and some change to shore up those areas of my background to help me get into a program and to help with my poor cGPA. I am looking for advice on my decision and what else I could possibly do to help with my chances to get into a good school. The advice part is more about the publics and governments perception of Climate and Atmospheric sciences. Do I need to be worried about a stagnant job growth market after graduation? Do I need to worry about job security for the future? I graduated from college and it took 6 months to get a job at all and this job isn’t even in my field but I needed to start paying back my loans so I took it. Do I need to worry about that even with a Master’s degree? Am I making a solid decision to enter a field that has a ton of controversy around it right now?

Just looking for some smart people that have smart advice. Seems like there’s a lot of you around here and I’m glad I found this site. Been searching for months for something to help me with Graduate school advice and ran across this amazing forum.^_^

• 2 weeks later...