Help assess chances for admission

Evgeny

Hi everyone,

I will apply to PhD in Poli Sci on the next Fall. I'm an international student (from Russia), my university is number one in Russia but in the world ranking system is only 173. I'm a junior (actually we have 5-year educational system, so it means I'm on my 4th-year student). I have GPA about 3,2 and hope that eventually it will be about 3,4-3,5. I'm majoring in Public Administration with minor in crisis management. But my year thesis is about nuclear proliferation and international law.

I have an summer internship experience at Harvard Belfer Center (Kennedy School of Government) and I'm still working on some articles with professors from there. I hope I'll get the recom lett from one of this professors. And I also will have eventually another one from veru well-known professor from Russia. And another one is from my school thesis advisor.

Also, I'm a junior fellow in one of the Russian center for international study and done internship at Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

I had studied general physics (in the same university with GPA 3,1) for three years before I quit and reapply to School of Public Administration. So, I believe that I have strong enough math background for PhD. In addition, I really have deep understanding of physical part of nuclear weapons process.

Also, I have very active public life in my school. I'm a president of Expert-Analitical Club, member of Union of Youth Scientists of my university, etc. Represent my country in Youth G8 Summit in Italy. and going to Stanford conference on April.

Has five-six publication in Russian journals on security issue. Some articles is under consideration in american journals.

So, I has strong intention to apply on PhD with focusing on Security study(or International relations in some university) and Models and Methods.

I'm considering Columbia, Harvard, MIT, Stanford, Princeton, Berkley, NYU.