Scripps Ocean Interview

kseeful

Hey, I'm a first-year grad student and felt totally lost when I did my interviews last year. I also did an interview at Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences, but that one was way more laid back than Scripps'.
By some fluke, I made it in. So if anyone is in the same situation for the open house this month, I'm here to answer any questions (:

Hey, I'm applying for the program that you are a part of.  Actually, I applied for Scripps and a bunch of other schools.  1. Do you know if Scripps has made its decisions yet?  2. I got invited to interview at another institute; any tips?

1. No, they haven't made their decisions. They've already invited people to the open house, so you probably didn't get an invite to that. That doesn't mean you didn't get in though, it just means you're not on the top of someone's list. It looks like the profs go through and pick one or two students to host at most. If those students aren't a good fit/decide not to come, it's still possible that they may reach out to more after the open house (but honestly, not likely).

2. Yes, pick a very specific question! Whoever invited you to come visit - look at their research, identify an ongoing area of research and COME UP WITH A QUESTION. They really, really want to see that you're able to identify something specific you'd like to study. Yes, this is HARD. Yes, it'll help enormously. I didn't do this but I would have been way better off if I'd tried. "I want to study ocean acidification and how it affects coral reefs" is not nearly specific enough.