Unsure who to ask for letters of recommendation

rwoodward

I'm an international undergrad, but I'm unsure who to use for letters of recommendation.

The rule I've seen for LoR is to ask people who have known you for more than 6 months. Unfortunately due to the way my course works, there is only one person in my intended area (organic chemistry) who will have known me for this length of time, and he hasn't seen me outside taught courses.

My choices are:

A research fellow in org chem (who works for a famous prof) who has taught me for a year, my masters supervisor (organic chemistry - he will have known me for 4 months when I apply), a famous professor I did a summer project with (organic chemistry - worked with him ~3 months) or two professors in inorganic/physical chemistry who have taught me for three years and know me really well.

I'm unsure who to pick. I'm scared if I don't pick 3 organic chemists this will hinder me, and also if only one person I pick has seen me do research. Is it bad to include people who have worked with me for less than 6 months, or this a general rule to insure the supervisor knows me well? Do I have any chance at top schools? 

Thanks in advance for help.

Edited by rising_star
to remove identifying info

It is best to include at least two people who have seen you do research. All the better that they're organic chemists too in your case. The third recommendation can be from any of your two teachers (better if they're well known in their field), doesn't matter if they're from a different field.

What matters is if you've had meaningful interaction with the recommenders and displayed your capabilities. The six month guideline need not be strictly adhered to.