Taxes on funding package for Canadian student in California

mc356

I'm new to gradcafe and hoping someone here can help! Very confused on tax regulations for Canadian PhD students studying in California at the UC schools. I was recently accepted with funding at Davis (TA salary, plus full tuition and non-resident tuition remission) and San Diego (stipend, plus full tuition and non-resident tuition remission), and I'm trying to figure out how taxes work and how much of my stipend or salary would be left over after all taxes. Do I pay US taxes at state and federal level AND Canadian taxes as well? Any others in similar position who can explain their experience? Basically, I'm trying to figure out if I can afford this.

Any thoughts are much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

You will be taxed by both the federal and California state governments on your pay as a tuition assistant. Stipends are not taxable, income as a TA, GAR, etc are all taxable. I have no idea if Canada will expect a cut as well. Depending on how much they are going to pay you to TA you may end up in a tax bracket that involves losing a fair bit of it to taxes. 

California has the highest state taxes in the United States at around 13% FYI. 

Cost of living is higher in all respects in both Davis and San Diego with San Diego being in the top ten for most expensive cities in the US. (I lived in San Diego for awhile, but it was years ago so. I can say that it was expensive then and nothing seems to have changed)

Biggest hit is housing across the board in almost every single place in California. Housing is higher in Davis and San Diego than the rest of the US by wide wide margin. 

Hopefully his is accounted for in the level of pay you receive from the University (although that will possibly move you into a higher bracket of course)