A PHD in Education without a Masters

Konnichiwa2015

Hello! Sorry, I know there was a post like this before, but it seems like there was an error with it. My apologies.

I graduated in 2015, with bachelors degrees in linguistics and Japanese. Ever since then I have been teaching English in Japan with the JET program. I'm planning to be here a few more years. Also, I'm hoping to have a first authored publication in an applied linguistics journal soon.

When I was an undergraduate, I always assumed I would get my PhD in linguistics. However, being a teacher has shifted a lot of the questions I'm interested in towards subjects that are typically discussed in education departments. Specifically, I'm interested in international education programs, like the ones at Stanford and NYU.

When I do go to graduate school, I would prefer to go straight into a PhD for financial, time, and career reasons. Some programs, like Stanford, explicitly say that you do not need a Masters degree to apply. Others have different policies. I am told that different fields have different expectations when it comes to getting your Masters before your PhD. I was wondering what the culture is like when it comes to Education.I've heard that a masters is virtually required for PhDs in higher education, but what about international education? Even for programs like Stanford, which do not require a Masters, is it rare for someone to get in without one?

Also, since I didn't study education as an undergraduate, would that hurt my chances?

Thank you for your time!