Matching students with supervisors ?

nixipixi

I really don't understand the process anymore. I am an international student in EE and where I am from the PhD starts by selecting a supervisor/Lab who is willing to take you. Then you apply (which is basically guaranteed if your intended supervisor approved)

in the US, everything is in reverse!

First you have to get accepted to the program. Only then do you start with the selection of a supervisor, but nothing is guaranteed! 

I may have wanted to work with Prof. X but end up working with Prof. Y?!

Can someone explain the logic behind this process?

I can't speak for all schools, but one advantage of this method is that it gives more freedom to both students and professors. For example:

- Students might not know what they really like to study at the start of grad school. This option allows students to take some classes, get to know some professors and try new ideas before committing the rest of the degree to it. Many new grad students have a "research interest" but this doesn't mean it's their only interest---it might be the only thing they have done in the past.

- This also gives a chance for professors to see how students perform in classes and get to know the students better before committing time and money in a new student. Some students are amazing on paper but not actually that great when working with them. However, despite the lack of commitment, there is often some kind of understanding that there is some professor interested in a student before they are actually accepted.

- If a professor decides to leave the department or turns out to be a terrible personality fit for the student, it gives the student time to find a new supervisor. I find that my perceptions of professors and research interests changed a lot during my first year.