Rejected from PhD program, offered spot in Master's! Decisions, decisions?

RudolftheRed

Over the past year, I applied to Ph.D programs in Education Policy. One of the programs that I was highly interested in was UPenn's. I figured that with my application and experience, it might be a stretch. I was rejected from each doctoral program I applied to, but was accepted to the M.S.Ed program in Education Policy at UPenn and was awarded $13,500 in merit-based scholarship and the potential for $10,000 for a Dean's Scholarship. 

Rejection is a bummer, but this offer creates a new opportunity. I am partially unfamiliar with their Master's program in Ed Policy, and this merit-based scholarship still leaves me on the hook for $29k in tuition. Would going to UPenn be worth it? Is this just a really soft rejection? Can I scholarship and assistantship $29k down to something manageable with loans and extra employment? 

I'm currently a teacher with five years of experience and a Master's degree in teaching. I'm looking to transition my career to research and policy in my field. My ultimate dilemma is whether this is a worthwhile opportunity to make that change. Or am I better suited performing  post-mortem on my applications, staying at my current job, and trying again next year? 

Like I'm sure you're used to hearing: any advice would be appreciated! 

It's your call to make. But if I were in your shoes I would personally not get a second master's degree in the same discipline with a different sub-field. Do you know if any alumni and current students have been accepted into the PhD program with a similar academic background? I'd try to find out for a credible source if having a master's in educational policy is necessary to get into the PhD. But I have a hunch some schools would accept applicants with your educational background if the rest of your profile was strong.