The feeling of frustration

Tall Chai Latte

Hi all,

In the academic food chain, I am considered to be at the lowest level -- I'm a grad student wanna-be. But since my junior year in college, I started working on research projects, both with a senior grad student or my own independent projects, up till now I've got a pretty good grasp of what grad school might be like. My previous projects have been working out for me (I was very lucky indeed), but lately a train of setbacks just hit me right on. It's been very.... frustrating. Is feeling frustrated normal?

Hi all,

In the academic food chain, I am considered to be at the lowest level -- I'm a grad student wanna-be. But since my junior year in college, I started working on research projects, both with a senior grad student or my own independent projects, up till now I've got a pretty good grasp of what grad school might be like. My previous projects have been working out for me (I was very lucky indeed), but lately a train of setbacks just hit me right on. It's been very.... frustrating. Is feeling frustrated normal?

Sadly, yes. Sometimes research goes well, sometimes it just sucks. The important thing is to learn from those setbacks, to evaluate why things aren't working and what you can change about your methodology (or hypothesis) to get things back on track. Remember, you learn as much from disproving a hypothesis as you do from proving it.