Next year's apps.... cant believe i'm applying AGAIN

nerdygirl1982

Ok so does anyone have any info or advice on next year's applications??? i was rejected from EVERY phd poli sci program i applied to. while i love poli sci, my subject of study could really be studied through history, poli scie, econ, or business. Is any one of those less competitive than the other? I'm starting my 2nd master's degree in the fall, hoping that will make me a stronger applicant. My undergrad is from Columbia (poli sci + spanish) my MA is from NYU (Political Economy) and i start Quant Methods MA at Columbia this Fall...

I really want to just get my PhD already so i can research & teach etc but it's getting farther and farther :( any advice? I also work full-time as an analyst in financial services.

• 3 months later...
  • 1 month later...

I was advised by a professor from U Maryland (now at WashU) that getting hired in Political Economy is becoming increasingly difficult, so it would follow that schools would likely admit fewer students interested in the field. He's a very well respected economist and basically laughed at me and told me to rethink my interests when I mentioned the possibility of Political Economy as a research focus.