Switch from OT to PSYD? Need Advice

cgrapids

Hello, 

I am an occupational therapist - and I am interested in becoming a Psychologist.  I am really drawn to psych, and I have to say I am a bit disillusioned with OT, it doesn't feel right to me.  I would much rather help patients with mental health problems than physical dysfunction.  

I am in my 30s.  Is it sensible to pursue a PhD or PsyD or should I call it quits and stick with my profession? Thank you for advice!

Hi CGrapids, I've met some "untraditional" doctorate Clinical Psychology students who started pursuing psychology in their late-30s and early-40s after switching careers, so you're not in bad company. It's doable, and I believe there are transferable knowledge and skills from OT that complements Clinical Psychology quite well depending on your clinical/research interests

Edited by JoePianist

I don't think you can't switch necessarily. 

However, from a pragmatic point of view there are some questions you probably need to ask as someone in your 30s:

-If you want to pursue a PsyD or PhD that is going to be at least 4-5 years of full-time schooling with a clinical internship for a full year after that before licensure. Is that worth is versus a Masters degree with which you can also practice?

-Are you interested in research? If yes, pursue a PhD. If no, pursue a PsyD. (This is a bit of an exaggeration as I've met research-oriented PsyDs and clinically-oriented PhDs, but in general this is how things separate.) 

-Do you have a family/are you geographically restricted for your applications? If so, getting into a good program may be extremely difficult for PhD/PsyDs?

-What draws you to psychology versus OT? You say OT "doesn't feel right to you" but you don't really explain why helping people with mental health problems is a higher calling for you. Some elaboration for yourself may be good. Perhaps you've already thought this out a lot... I just didn't get a lot from the post.