Looking back, how do you feel about your undergrad experience?

Hi! I'd be really curious to hear people's reflections on their undergrad training in literature and how it prepared them for graduate study.

I graduated with a BA a few weeks ago and am just starting to dive into the grad school application process. However, in reading about people's research interests and theoretical lenses, I'm worried that my undergrad department wasn't particularly... rigorous. We had one required theory course, but in class rarely went much deeper than close readings. My school has a very strong social justice culture, so most people professed to use gender or postcolonial theory, but at least in class discussions, this usually just meant complaining how a certain depiction of race or gender was "problematic." Often, professors were mainly discussion facilitators, instead of lecturers. In practice this meant most class time was spent listening to other students discussing the text to get the required participation points, instead of listening to someone deeply learned in the field. Professors have encouraged me to apply to top 20 graduate schools, but I'm not sure I have a very broad knowledge of literature. I received an A+ on my thesis, but I don't think I raised any particularly interesting questions about the texts.

I honestly don't want to complain: I had a great four years, and I made close personal relationships with some fantastic scholars who have volunteered to write LoRs for me. Maybe this is just par for the course for undergrad, with true rigor and theoretical breadth coming later. But I'd be very interested to hear other people's reflections on their undergrad experience: how it went, how it prepared them, where they think their education might have been lacking. 

1 hour ago, Gl0rfindel said: