Hi guys, 

I am in the middle of a crisis. I just finished my degree in journalism in London, but actually I want to study literature: I got a place for a master's degree in comparative literature at UCL, so a very good uni, but I am now thinking of refusing that and go to Lausanne and start another bachelor, in Italian, French and Spanish literature. Ultimately, I want to become a lecturer at university level. So my question is: can I still get into teaching (after a PhD), even if my bachelor is not in literature, or do I really need that qualification? Is it really worth changing? 

Thanks people, help in this situation is much appreciated.

Peace!

43 minutes ago, Laura M said:

Hi guys, 

I am in the middle of a crisis. I just finished my degree in journalism in London, but actually I want to study literature: I got a place for a master's degree in comparative literature at UCL, so a very good uni, but I am now thinking of refusing that and go to Lausanne and start another bachelor, in Italian, French and Spanish literature. Ultimately, I want to become a lecturer at university level. So my question is: can I still get into teaching (after a PhD), even if my bachelor is not in literature, or do I really need that qualification? Is it really worth changing? 

Peace!

If you earn a master's degree in the same field you want to earn a doctorate, your bachelors in journalism should not be a hindrance. (If you're very concerned, you could look at departments where you imagine teaching down the line. What percentage of newer professors have three degrees in literature?)

Insofar as developing your language skills, I think I understand how the structure of an undergraduate major could be appealing. However,is taking a step backwards (turning down an offer of admission to earn another b.a.) the best path forward for you personally?