Rochester Fall 2010

NUMDS

I am 99.9% sure that I will be attending Rochester this fall. I was wondering who else was considering going to Rochester this fall.

I don't want to get into statistics or the pedigree of your undergraduate institution. I would like to hear about what your research interests, what brought you to the point of seeking a PhD in political science, and what you like to do when you are not thinking about political science.

I am first on the waitlist and am 99.9% sure I would attend should a spot open up. I'll check back if one does and further introduce myself, but am studying American Politics and would likely take Formal Theory and Methods as my other two fields there. Will keep you posted.

I've been in contact with some of you, but let me open up to the board. I'm currently a first-year student at Rochester and would be happy to answer any questions you might have. Feel free to PM.

Observe, too, that we were the only ones in the northeast to avoid the major snowstorms of the past few weeks, WOOT WOOT!

If I may ask: what exactly do you mean by "Alabama-style"?

I think that his cynical joke (I like that kind of humor!) was referring to a biology professor at the University of Alabama who the other week was denied tenure and then proceeded to go on a shooting rampage and kill three of her colleagues. Mearshimer, like all of us, is hoping that there isn't anybody at Rochester who would do such a thing.

Speaking of funding... do people here have experiences with stipend negotiations? (sorry, slightly off-topic)

You can always call and tell them about your other offers, and be willing to provide paperwork to verify those other offers. They may elect to increase your offer. Or they might not. You don't lose if they stand firm. You could win a lot by asking.