My supervisor is dying.

Long-time lurker, first-time poster - it sucks that I'm doing so under such unfortunate circumstances, but here we are.

I just learned today that the supervisor for my MSc (which I have been working on for a couple years, currently writing up and preparing to defend) is being transferred to hospice care after a year+ of cancer treatment. He has been in and out of hospital for the past couple months so the writing was already on the wall, but we all tried to keep a positive, hopeful outlook - but things are not going well.

On the academic/administrative level: I have a meeting scheduled with my department head and graduate chair in a few days, presumably to discuss what happens next, including, I assume, alternate supervision. I'm a little worried because our group is very small and already a bit of an oddball in the department - my supervisor was our only PI and no other faculty members really deal much with our research area. I have a couple other mentors/contacts in my field I would be comfortable going to for informal advice, but they are all outside the department/at a different institution altogether, so would only be able to do so in an "unofficial" capacity (and not able to, say, chair my committee or whatever). I'm definitely not going to be able to get a reference from him, unless my interviewers are cool with ouija board as a method of communication. Has anyone else here ever had to deal with such a thing (an abrupt change in supervision at the late stages of your degree)? How did/does it go? What happens to the funding that I'm getting from his grants (and any future plans for conference travel, etc that we may have had)? I know that these answers will varying based on the institution and individual circumstances, but I'm just trying to get an idea of generally what to expect based on others' experiences.