PhD Stats Profile Evaluation

Hi everyone,

I’m a rising senior undergrad coming from a mostly math background, interested in applying to stats PhD programs for the fall.

Undergrad Institution: Top 50 public (somewhat well-known STEM school; we don’t have a dedicated stats dept but math and applied math grad programs are top 20)

Major(s): Math

Minor(s): CS

GPA: 3.76 (major: 3.80)

Type of Student: domestic white male

GRE General Test:

Q: 170 (97%)

V: 169 (99%)

W: 5.0 (93%)

GRE Subject Test in Mathematics:

M: xxx (xx%) (taking it this fall and shooting for 80%+ which I know is far from an easy task, but shouldn’t be out of the question given my math background and dedicated studying)

Programs Applying: Statistics Ph.D (or masters I guess if I get rejected from PhD programs). Interested in probability/theoretical stats.

Research Experience: Number theory project freshman summer, 2 pure math REUs (one in topology and one in discrete math/combinatorics) resulting in some preprints and submitted papers. Presented work at 5 well-known math conferences. Senior thesis in probability. Some of my research involved a non-trivial amount of programming in Python and MATLAB.

Awards/Honors/Recognitions: Putnam Top 500, scholarships/departmental awards. Passed the probability actuarial exam freshman year.

Pertinent Activities or Jobs: TA’d calculus one semester and did some high school tutoring here and there.

Courses: I took a heavy load of math/stat/CS courses (26 math/stat/CS courses completed by start of senior year)