Applying to New school(Philosophy)

Earnest

Hi,  I am a graduate student in Seoul National University majoring in philosophy(Ph.D.) My main interests are existentialism and phenomenology. Since I want to study Kierkegaard, Heidegger, and Levinas more in depth, I am planning to apply to several Universities in the U.S. UChicago, and UPenn are nice places to study Heidegger and Levinas. It seems New school is also a wonderful place to study my interests in depth. I am thinking of applying to these schools. I heard that in Boston College, students could complete the Ph.D. and masters degree in 5 years. So some people recommend applicants to apply to MA which could be finished in a year. They say that it would be less stressful because they would have two years to prepare for the Ph.d exam. However, in the case of New school, I am not sure if I have to apply to MA program or Ph.D. program. I have no idea which would be the better choice for me. And I am concerned because I might not have a chance if I apply to Ph.D. program. I would be glad to receive your pieces of advice. Thank you. 

Really?? My academic adviser recommended for me to apply there. He thinks it would be one of the best places to study european contemporary philsophy. Do you know anyone who is in the program recently?

Edited by Haeyeon Han