Book Review as Publication?

hungrybear

PhD and Master's apps are asking if I have any publications. I have no research articles published. I do, however, have a published book review in an academic journal. I was an intern for this journal in undergrad, and, as part of the internship, I was allowed to publish a book review. Should I include it in the app? 

In your CV, you should make a section with publications and a subheader with groups (book reviews, academic articles, book chapters, etc). As fuzzylogician said, make it clear, but give yourself credit.

1 hour ago, Tigla said:

In your CV, you should make a section with publications and a subheader with groups (book reviews, academic articles, book chapters, etc). As fuzzylogician said, make it clear, but give yourself credit.

Actually, I think the subheadings will come in due time, especially if, as the OP said, they have very few publications. @miami421 you should clarify it is a review and you'll be fine. 

Of course. A publication is a publication. Don't feel "less than" for doing it either. You have a leg up on most other applicants, because most other applicants have a blank CV coming out of their undergrad program.

• 2 weeks later...
1 hour ago, AP said:

I think it is a great place to start as a publication

This is a somewhat controversial opinion, but I have now had several advisers who discourage book reviews until, at minimum, you're in a TT job. The basic gist of the argument is that if you're given a bad book to review, you can either take it to task and make some enemies, or you can foul it off and have people think you're an idiot and a coward - a no-win situation.

I'm not sure this scenario is actually something that's common enough to merit an absolute prohibition, but it is something to keep in mind.

1 hour ago, telkanuru said: