UMass Amherst

HKgal

Dear friends of Gradcafe,

I have been accepted by U Mass Amherst with 5-year-teaching/research assistantship. But in fact, I have little knowledge about the school. I would like to ask:

1) her reputation of Sociology in the US in general and their strength. Does it match with my interest (i.e. gender and qualitative research method)?

2) As my lover and I want to get married soon in my hometown, is it possible for me to study U Mass Amherst for 2 years full-time and then I do my fieldwork for 3 years in my hometown? This is a real headache for me and my boyfriend.

3) Lastly, as I am not a particularly smart person, I am concerned about the graduation rate and the average years for an individual to finish a PhD.

Thanks a lot for your help! Wish you good luck for your application!

HKgal

• 2 weeks later...

Has anyone else heard any word from UMass Amherst? Their website says it takes 5-6 weeks after the January 15th deadline to release decisions. We're now at the end of week 7... I emailed them twice, but have gotten no response. Does anyone know anything?

Has anyone else heard any word from UMass Amherst? Their website says it takes 5-6 weeks after the January 15th deadline to release decisions. We're now at the end of week 7... I emailed them twice, but have gotten no response. Does anyone know anything?

Ha! I haven't heard from them either and their website does say the make decisions at the end of Feb.

Hmm I saw someone just posted a Umass rejection on the results page. I just checked my application status online and it still says "applied". Does anyone else have any info?

Mine just went from applied to "waitlisted" this afternoon.

Hmm.. I saw people had received decisions by calling and speaking to the Director/grad secretary. I just called and asked and they said final decisions would be made in 1-2 weeks and that they had no more information beyond that. This is so frustrating!

• 2 weeks later...