Applying to same institutions 2 years in a row VS. postponing application for 1 year

dkwijbw

Hello,

I graduated the college in 2017 June, and am currently taking a gap year working as a full-time research assistant under two professors. 

I was planning on applying to Statistics PhD programs in this December, but now I'm considering taking another gap year (researching for 1 more year or get a job) OR apply this year, see the results, and re-apply in the next cycle if I'm not satisfied with the results.

The reason why I'm considering the options is because I think I will have at least 2 journal publications as a co-author if I apply in the next cycle, whereas I will have 0 journal publications (maybe 1 conference paper or in the archive or something) if I apply in this December. The professor that I'm currently working with thinks my application will be much stronger if I apply in the next cycle with (multiple) journal publications (of course the publication is not 100% sure, but I think the professor is trustworthy).

It would be great if I could hear any opinions about the two options! Also love to hear opinions about my GRE score (low verbal...). Below is my profile. Thanks a ton in advance!

Undergrad Institution: UChicago 

Major: Mathematics, Statistics

Cumulative GPA: 3.6 ~ 3.7; Major GPA (mathematics): 3.7~3.8

Type of Student:  asian international male

Math Courses: 
Undergraduate: Honors calculus I (B+), calculus III (A), Multivariable calculus (A), Intro to analysis (A-), Analysis in Rn (3 quarters, B, B+, A- ), Abstract Algebra (2 quarters, B+, A), Complex analysis (A), Numerical analysis (A-),

Statistics Courses:
Undergraduate: Statistical Theory and Methods (2 quarters, B, A), Nonparametric inference (B), Intro to Mathematical Probability (A), Applied Regression Analysis (A), Categorical data analysis (B+)
Graduate: Numerical linear algebra (A)