Is it possible to get into in a decent PhD program with my background?

raul.carmo

Hello everyone,

I am applying to dozens of chemistry graduate programs in the US right now but I wonder if my application has any chance of being accepted by a top 50 program.

My GRE scores are: V-160, Q-154, AW 3.0

TOEFL: 113/120

GPA: 3.1 general, 3.6 in chemistry

I have been involved in research since sophomore year in college and I hold a MS degree in chemistry, but my home institution is small and unfortunately I couldn't make any publications out of it, only presentations in small symposia. I can also get 3 good letters of reference from faculty members and my advisor. Another plus in my application is that I have studied one year in the US as the recipient of a scholarship (studying abroad is really rare in my country) and receive other small scholarships throughout my 'career'.

Is there anyone who have been in a similar situation and got in a decent PhD program? Do I stand a chance?

ps.: my research interest is in the field of organometallic catalysis and new synthetic methodologies

Not sure why nobody is replying to your thread, OP. But if you are a international student, then I personally think that your profile is subpar for "top 20-30" programs. You may have a shot for the so-called "31-50", but I would focus more on your personal statement and emphasize what you are good at. You probably want to consider something that is outside of the "top 50" but really good at "organometallic catalysis and new synthetic methodologies" -- there can be big names in those fields who happened to not be in the "top 30" or even "top 50" programs.

• 3 weeks later...

Harshal, I plan to apply to Purdue for fall 2018 and i want to ask you about my chances... my profile is as follow: 

- bachelor of Pharmacy in 2016 ( percentage 90% ) ( Gpa : 4 )

- 1 year teaching assistant in Chemistry and Biomedical science 

- english : ielts (7)