Anthropology GRE Scores

RA2018

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I've been looking at the post on GRE's around here for a while and wanted opinion's on my  unofficial GRE scores. I'm also an undergrad anthropology major and am applying to PhD programs for next fall. 

I'm applying to Duke, Princeton, Stanford, University of Tulsa, University of Maryland, and University of South Florida

Unofficial scores: 149 Verbal and 144 Quantitative

Undergrad GPA Overall: 3.765 on a 4.0 scale

Do you think that if I do well on other parts of my application like my statement of purpose would I stand a chance at getting in?

You may want to consider retaking the GRE. You are applying to some competitive programs and often schools will use GRE scores as a cutoff (300, typically). Getting your combined score above this would probably stop your application from being an auto reject.

Do you have research experience? Publications? Experience connected to the research you want to do? Any grants? Are your LoRs from people well-known and respected in the field and/or are they particularly strong? These can all help offset low GRE scores. 

I would say contact the departments in question and specifically your POI at each program and see what they say about your GRE scores. I didn't have an amazing GRE score but still got into a good MA program. Most departments understand that the GRE is a horrible way to assess potential applicants. Most professors and departments I talked to don't necessarily have a "cut-off" for the GRE but they will use the GRE to help decided between applicants or to decide who gets funding. But again, I would say contact your POI and see what they say.