Graduate institutes versus universities, and prestige

fortsibut

Hello all.  I wasn't sure where else to post this, but since I'm a historian and this is the history forum I figured I'd ask here in case any of you had run into this issue.

I'm a history MA student (finally) at the point where I'm taking the GRE, defending my MA thesis, and preparing my PhD applications.  Although as an Africanist already studying at a US college I have a number of target schools in the US, but I'm also considering applying to a couple of programs in Europe.  One is Oxford, and the other that caught my eye is the Graduate Institute Geneva (http://graduateinstitute.ch), but I noticed that they aren't a university, per se (http://graduateinstitute.ch/home/about-us/institute/accreditation-reconnaissance-ran.html), but by their own account they "enjoy(s) a worldwide reputation in international circles."  I'm familiar with the prestige element of degree-seeking at the doctoral level (x% of tenure track jobs go to graduates of the top ~30 universities or whatever) and I'm wondering whether getting a degree from an institution that isn't a real university would hurt me pretty badly in the job search down the road.  (Or alternately, whether this is just a well-recognized different kind of school whose degrees are still well-respected.)

I'd really appreciate any info or advice you have; I'm a bit lost, here.  Obviously if I end up getting into Cornell or a similar program I'll go with the known commodity, but this seemed like an interesting potential backup plan in the event that I didn't get any bites elsewhere.  (And I'd be lying if I said that I wouldn't love to live in Geneva for four years!)

55 minutes ago, psstein said:

If you want to get an academic, tenure-track job, you need to have teaching experience. A research institute will not give you that.