Recommender choice

Hey all,

My background is in literature but I'm currently doing a cultural studies degree. Initially I thought about getting recommenders who are familiar with my work in literature but one of them is overseas and I wonder whether it might be better to have more recommenders from US institutions. I'd have 2 options: my linguistics professor and my boss, who has not taught me but could discuss my teaching. Has anyone asked for recommenders from different fields, do you think it is better to stick to literature?

Based on what I've learned, I'd pick the profs who are best established who know your work the best.  I had two recommenders from the English department, and a third from a well established History professor for whom I wrote several long papers - but in a subject area (early modern scientific history!) that had nothing to do with my SOP (Cold War era U.S. popular culture!)  While his subject specialty was distant from my application materials, he had read many more pages of my work than one of my English recommenders.

I agree with jrockford's advice. I would only add that it's probably wise to include at least one recommendation from your current degree program. Even if your future work will deal more with literature than cultural studies, I think that not having any recommendations from your current program could send up red flags, if they think that you couldn't find anyone there to write a recommendation for you. Plus cultural studies is so integral to lots of what goes on in literature departments that it will probably still be applicable.

Thanks for the advice guys! What are your thoughts on getting a recommendation from someone who can comment on your teaching (in a language, not literature) rather than someone who can discuss your graduate work?

6 hours ago, WildeThing said: