Profile Evaluation - PhD Stat/Econ Programs

stat_applicant_2018

Hello,

I am planning to apply to PhD programs in Economics and Statistics for admission in Fall 2018. I was hoping that I could get feedback on my applicant profile because I am having trouble determining how difficult it is to get into various PhD programs. I have been working for 3 years after college at a large financial institution so I would probably not go to a school that is not top-ranked given I have a lot of other opportunities I could pursue besides a PhD program. My research interests are to use novel statistical techniques to understand complex, interconnected financial markets.

Appreciate the help in advance!

Institution: Top 20 Private

Majors: Mathematical Economics, Statistics

Minor: Financial Modeling

GPA: Cumulative - 3.49.

Type of Student: Domestic Caucasian Male

GRE General Test:

Q: 167

V: 164

W: 5

GRE Math Subject Test: Took it, but results are unknown.

Research Experience:

Two summers of research experience with rising star applied mathematics professor. Developed an algorithm to predict election outcomes with very little data in the 1st summer and worked towards developing an algorithm that could create improvised music in real-time.

Earned a university-wide distinction in research for some work I did with another professor analyzing the market microstructure of the bond market of India.

Invited to a national conference for undergraduates to present a proposal on how to improve the American healthcare system.

Work Experience (after graduation):