Dropped out of law school years ago after 1 year, list this or no?

GuydeLusignan

Question

I have been working in the Silicon Valley for over ten years, when I was 21-22 yrs old I attended a year of law school (T1), hated it, lost my full scholarship after year 1, and dropped out to take an engineering job at Apple. I am currently in the application process for a particular STEM PhD program that is wholly unrelated to law school.

Question: do grad schools have any way of knowing I attended law school for a year if I don't tell them? Should I tell them? It's one blemish on an otherwise fairly strong application I think. My undergrad GPA is a 3.97 but my law school GPA was around a 2.5. It would undermine my strong work experience, references, and GPA/GRE.

Thank you for any advice.

edit: ethically I understand I should (and I will) list my law school mistake, but if I didn't -- would they ever know? How does the verification process work?

Edited by GuydeLusignan

5 answers to this question

3 hours ago, GuydeLusignan said:

I have been working in the Silicon Valley for over ten years, when I was 21-22 yrs old I attended a year of law school (T1), hated it, lost my full scholarship after year 1, and dropped out to take an engineering job at Apple. I am currently in the application process for a particular STEM PhD program that is wholly unrelated to law school.

Question: do grad schools have any way of knowing I attended law school for a year if I don't tell them? Should I tell them? It's one blemish on an otherwise fairly strong application I think. My undergrad GPA is a 3.97 but my law school GPA was around a 2.5. It would undermine my strong work experience, references, and GPA/GRE.

Thank you for any advice.

edit: ethically I understand I should (and I will) list my law school mistake, but if I didn't -- would they ever know? How does the verification process work?