Are GRE Scores the primary cutoff during PhD application process?

OptimNeuroSoc

I am an International student who wishes to pursue his doctoral studies in US for biological science. I got reviews from most of my peers in US that the GRE scores are supposedly the primary cut off within universities during the application process selection. I would like to know about the same since my GRE scores are not that good and would like to take a decision whether I should apply for fall 2019 or atleast a lower tier university with my research interest as compared to my current selection. Hoping for a good response at the earliest.

Some universities use GRE cutoffs while others do not. It’s not a universal thing and it varies quite a bit. I’ve seen 300GRE/3.0gpa as a cutoff before, but usually to be competitive they have to be higher. I’ve also seen “you should have at least a 310 for evaluation” but I’m not sure if that’s a cutoff or simply a recommendation. What’s your score currently? That’ll help us give you advice. 

Edited by Neuro15

2 hours ago, Neuro15 said:

Some universities use GRE cutoffs while others do not. It’s not a universal thing and it varies quite a bit. I’ve seen 300GRE/3.0gpa as a cutoff before, but usually to be competitive they have to be higher. I’ve also seen “you should have at least a 310 for evaluation” but I’m not sure if that’s a cutoff or simply a recommendation. What’s your score currently? That’ll help us give you advice. 

My current score is as mentioned below

Q: 156

V: 149 

Total 305

AW: 4.0

And my GPA is 3.93 (overall) 

And 2 years of research experience. 

One in a molecular biology lab and another currently in a neurooncology lab.

So will my GRE scores possibly screw me up during the application selections?

3 hours ago, OptimNeuroSoc said:

My current score is as mentioned below

Q: 156

V: 149 

Total 305

AW: 4.0

And my GPA is 3.93 (overall) 

And 2 years of research experience.