interview dilemma

Hey m new here... all the threads look very useful n helpful so decided to post my question.. i got a call for interview from mount sinai for phd in biological sciences. since I am an international student i have also been given the option of a phone interview. Can anyone tell me if doing a phone interview reduces my chances of getting accepted as opposed to an in-person one? also if anyone has ever been to a mount sinai interview it would be great if they could tell me what to expect..the kind of questions asked ..etc etc.. Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz help!!!!

i have been on an interview at Mt Sinai and i am a domestic applicant.

i don't think doing phone interviews reduces your chances. if you could go in person you would want to go in person because that way

they get a sense of you as person and a graduate student. also visiting is also good since you can meet the graduate students and ask them questions that you may have.

you can also get a feel for what the institution is like and you can also see the place that you will be spending the next 5 years of your life.

from what i can tell mount sinai is international friendly. almost 50% of their students are international, at least that is what they told us. they also have some really good faculty and it would be nice if you can meet them and see if you would like to rotate in their labs.

hope that helps.

I agree. Plus, if you're an international student they will totally understand why you need or prefer to do a phone interview. I mean, if you could visit, just so you could get to know the place -- that's great, but if not, then I don't think a phone interview will count against you at all.

I agree. Plus, if you're an international student they will totally understand why you need or prefer to do a phone interview. I mean, if you could visit, just so you could get to know the place -- that's great, but if not, then I don't think a phone interview will count against you at all.