Any trans PhD students?

wisdomspeaks

Hi everyone,

I am a PhD student in a social welfare program and I am having some difficulties being comfortable in classes and around the other students because I am not out yet. I have a lot of problems with social anxiety and lack of confidence--some of which are due to the issues I am having presenting to the outside world--and my program is small and tight knit. Well, it's tight knit but I'm not really a part of the community to be honest. I mostly isolate myself by working from home.

Anyway, I have intense anxiety around the other PhD students as it is and I don't think they are expecting me to come out at all, but it's getting harder and harder to give my little elevator speech with my name and research interests and to hear people misgender me on a daily basis. I'm really really stressed and and uncomfortable and I need some support from someone who understands what I'm going through. How do I come out to people who see me as a certain person? How do I all of a sudden out of nowhere ask people to call me a different name?

I appreciate your help in advance. I am on an online support group, but I can't find anyone who can relate to the specific issue of coming out in a phd program...

Hello,

I am not in the same situation as you, but I've been around trans folks in university and having them as friends and hearing their stories made me realize that to get to university (and even more so in academia) shows just how resilient they are.

Just FYI, the University of Ottawa in Canada has just tired their first tenure professor who will teach and do research on trans realities. He is trans. Maybe you could contact him to hear a little bit about his own experience in academia? He teaches in social work. 

Edited by Adelaide9216