MA/MSc with Funding

scatomancer

Hello,

I am an international student applying for PhD programs in Sociocultural Anthropology in the US, with a research focus of anthropology of mental health. Unfortunately, the number of programs to which I am eligible to apply has diminished, since I had not have chance to take TOEFL on time. In order to increase my options, I also want to include Master's programs with funding, in Sociocultural Anth/Med Anth. Are you aware of any?

Good luck with the applications!

47 minutes ago, Bschaefer said:

Hi @scatomancer, check out GSU. There is funding available for the masters students and 2 professors that focus in medical Anthropology - Cassie white and Steven black. 

Thanks a lot! Both seem to have research fit to mine, but $2,000 stipend for GAship per semester would be quite risky for me since the F-1 visas don't include work permission.

You might also want to check out Mississippi State. We are an applied anthropology program with focuses in archaeology, bioarchaeology, and cultural anthropology. Right now we have 3 cultural professors and next year we're adding a fourth cultural professor. The new professor is a medical anthropologist but she does not particularly look into mental health. But you don't have to attend a university that has professors that do exactly what you want. Just as long as you have professors there who can help you and who are willing to work with you on your research. Plus, I saw that you're in/from Turkey. I'm not sure if you're wanting to maintain work in that region of the world but we're also really known for our specialty in the Middle East. We have one cultural professor who does research in Jordan and an archaeology professor who excavates in Israel. Last year we had an archaeology grad student graduate who is also from Turkey and he liked it here.