What I should I accomplish in a Master's?

astroid88

Hi All,

I am currently applying to MENAs master's and History PhD programs, with the intent of going to into a MENA master's program. I applied to 2 10-20 PhD programs as feelers for later on.  My goal is to get into a top 10 history program after my master's.

I graduated with decent grades from undergrad (3.75), typical awards (PBK, magna cum laude, history senior award, etc.), proficiency in two languages related to my research area,  study abroad experience in two countries related to my area (A North African country and France. I study French colonialism), archival research experience in France, and I have teaching experience (3 years as a French language teacher). I scored highly on the GRE Verbal and Analytical Writing, so I don't plan on retaking the test.

I am applying to MENAs master's program to work on my Arabic. I have a preliminary goals list, but I would like to add on to it. 

My goals are to: get my Arabic to third-year proficiency, do intensive Arabic study abroad my first summer (or one in the US if that doesn't pan out), develop good relationships with my professors, write a master's thesis (and get in a second archival visit in the process), present at a conference, and be a TA.

Is there anything else I should be doing?

As a side question: I feel like  I did well in undergrad. A lot of people apply to master's programs because they didn't do too hot in undergrad. I was wondering, all else being equal, will my strong record in undergrad play any role in the admissions process? Are people who do well in both undergrad and MA programs seen in a better light than those who went into one because of poor grades and lack of focus? I realize I'm not the only one applying and entering master's programs with a strong undergrad record, nor is my undergraduate record the best. I'm just curious as to how that record is factored in to future PhD applications.

Edited by astroid88