Wagner MPP/MPA 2008

hopeful grad

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Congrats! hopeful grad

I applied to NYU/MPA too, but hearing nothing. They told me the result will come out in several weeks, i guess its cuz I finished my application really late...or they actually already ****me??? :shock:

Would you like to share with me your background stats, like GRE,relevant work experience, GPA, etc.?

BTW, there is an optional essay, part of the application but I didnt write it. How about you? I m wondering if that will hurt my chances in any way.

When I completed my application at the end of October, there was no optional essay...I beleive they added it later in the year. So, obviously, I did not complete it.

As for my stats I have four years nonprofit work experience (writing/development); GRE 620 V, 550 Q, 4.5 A; GPA 3.8, undergraduate major/minor: journalism/poly sci. Hopefully those GRE scores won't hurt me too much....

I wrote the optional essay on #3, the broken bridge. Mine wasn't that long, maybe a page. I wrote it because my numbers aren't strong. But I have two years of ongoing professional research experience at a social policy firm in NYC, so I felt like I could relate some of that in my optional essay.

My numbers: 3.1. GRE:480V, 650Q, 3.5A. Double Majored in Math and Econ at a top20school. graduated in 2006.

I fully expected that my numbers will hurt my chances, but I've gotten accepted into 2 great programs already, so I am grateful even if I don't get accepted into anymore programs.

I also didn't have the optional essay, although they did email me asking if I was going to submit an essay for the scholarships. Like I said I completed it in October. I have a 3.9 GPA with a major in Finance and minor in Italian. Experience in consulting, banking, and non-profit. I didn't take the GRE. We'll see how it goes when funding decisions come out. Good luck to everyone.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi can hardly wait,