SLPA worth it?

I am going to be receiving my Bachelors in Speech and Language Pathology. I didn't get into any of the graduate schools I applied to in California. I was wondering if doing SLPA is worth it. I want to apply to graduate school again and I have a lot of experience with the elderly, but not so much with children Since I will have a few months of no school, I really want to get experience. I know graduate school really likes the work experience with children. If I volunteered more with children or was even a substitute teacher for elementary ages children, would that be good enough. Or is SLPA the only way that guarantees a spot in graduate school? Because SLPA is very expensive and I have heard that job opportunities for SLPA are not guaranteed.