Math jobs that help people?

Halcyon18

I'm a sophomore math major hoping to get a PhD in math, but I don't know where to go from there. One thing I know for sure is that I want a job that involves making the world a better place. I hear so many math people talk about how they went into finance, which is NOT what I want to do because I want to help humanity, not big corporations. Are there any math-related jobs involving, say, medicine? And how rare/hard to get are they? Thank you in advance!

You might want to consider statistics instead of math, which has more applications in areas that you might be interested in. You may specifically be interested in biostatistics which is focused more on these applications and (a bit) less on the theoretical aspects that you would get in pure math or statistics. Also, biostatistics programs are usually located in schools of public health, which sounds more in line with your research goals, since it allows more direct collaboration with areas such as reproductive health, epidemiology, mental health, etc. I admit, I'm not too familiar with strictly math-related jobs and fields, so there may be other options that I'm unaware of. Since you're only a sophomore now, you have time to take some statistics courses if you have them available to you to see if you like it, and explore other areas as well.