In Need of Grad School Advice

Chemie

As of April 2016, I am currently a junior at a small college (that maybe a lot of you may not know ) called Chestnut Hill College. I am majoring in Forensic Chemistry with a current GPA of 3.6.

The thing is, I want to pursue Graduate School and earn my PhD. But I don't have a strong grasp at what I need to do and where I stand as a PhD candidate.

I intend to take the GRE this October and I planned out a study schedule during the summer to prepare for the exams. I'm still on the fence as to whether I need to take the Subject GRE or not.

As far as research interests, I would like to do research involving spectroscopy, however, I feel like that is a broad interest.

My credentials include being a Clare Boothe Luce Scholar with 2 years of research experience at Chestnut Hill College and Gwynedd Mercy University. I also have presentation experience from colloquium meetings, the ACS-CERM (2014), my college's honor conference (2016), and the Philadelphia Young Chemists Committee (2015 and 2016). I am also a member of Alpha Lambda Delta (first year student honors), Sigma Zeta (science and math honors), and Phi Sigma Iota (foreign languages). I am also the Club President of my college's Chemistry Club and Culture Club. I also do volunteer work through my clubs whenever possible.

This summer I will be researching at Miami U.'s REU program and presenting at the ACS-National Meeting. And hopefully by the Fall, I will have an internship at the city's Medical Examiner's Office.

I would like to know where I stand. I have no idea what I can consider my "safety schools", but I do want to try to shoot for the top schools too. So far, I have started researching schools via USNEWS, but I wonder if there are also more resources than that. So I'd like to hear some advice. A lot of advice comes a long way, so I greatly appreciate your help!