concerned about my application for 2018

kshrestha

Hi everyone,

I'm planning on applying to a Biochem program for fall 2018, but I am very much concerned about if my situation will even put me in the game or if I have a chance at admission and interviews. 

So I have been working in a small government chemistry lab for almost 1 year, with possibly 1 publication in the near future. I was hoping taking two years and getting some experience in the field would help my application, but I am not sure if working in a chem lab is any helpful since I want to be in a bio lab. Will this be disadvantageous towards my application? This is one of my main concerns, which is the reason I am looking for positions in a bio related lab.

I also interned as a research assistant during my undergrad at a clinical research institute and was also a lab assistant for my undergrad Bio department. I graduated from a liberal arts school and had a cumulative GPA of 3.63 and science GPA of 3.68, obviously not much different. I'm planning to take my GRE at the end of this month, but  I'm terrified that if I don't get around the 80% percentile, then I won't have any chances with everything else in my application. 

I would love to go to UC Davis, but I also have many other schools in mind like:

- Temple Uni- Uni of Colorado- Bolder 

-UC San Fran

- UC Santa Barbara

- Indiana 

- Wakeforest Uni

- Rockefeller

- NYU

- Uni of Florida 

- Darthmouth

Does anyone have any advice for this daunting process? Feel free to share any experiences or impressions about schools and programs. Thank you!!