Writing LOR for Past Instructor Up For Promo

Hi everyone,

I hope everyone is having a great week!
My question concerns writing a LOR for an instructor I had while in undergrad. He is a lecturer in the humanities, and I took three of his classes (two lower level, one upper level). 

He is up for promotion and asked if I would be willing to write him a LOR, which I of course would be happy to do. 

I'm a grad student now at the same university, but I've never written a LOR under these circumstances, so I was hoping someone could give me some pointers. I figured I'd follow the traditional LOR guidelines (talk about how we know each other, strengths as a teacher, etc.).

In terms of physically handing the letter in, do you typically print such a letter on university letterhead? Or, since I'm just a measly grad student, should I just put it in a blank envelope?

Any other pointers would be much appreciated. 
Thanks so much in advance! :) 

You can ask the instructor on what kind of things you should mention in the letter. You can also find the chair of the Promotions Committee (or whatever they call themselves) and ask what they are looking for. If it's just the Dept Head decision then ask them. You can also find some info online, but be aware that whomever is reading your letter will be looking for different things than a typical promotion LOR since they are specifically looking for a former student's point of view when requesting yours.

Whatever they are looking for (teaching excellence, mentorship of students, rapport, etc.) make sure to provide specific examples. I'd try to highlight things that are unique to your perspective as a former student if possible.

For the letter itself, check whether they want electronic or paper versions. If your school allows its students to use letterhead (I thought most did, but then I learned that some others did not allow it) then you can use it, however, since you're a student at the same school, it doesn't really matter.