Moving away from school to be with SO - advisor uphappy

turbidite

A little background... I'm a 4th year PhD student who has been ABD for roughly a year - classes, comps, and other requirements all complete. I've done a lot of thinking and have decided I want to propose to my girlfriend of ~3.5 years. I've planned it out, picked the ring, etc but have run into a bit of a problem. First, my SO recently got the job of her dreams in a city that is 4 hours by car away from my university. I don't think either of us has been enjoying the distance and have mentioned to each other in the past that if we got engaged, we would be living together. I feel like since I'm just writing I could work from anywhere but evidently my advisor does not agree.

Upon breaking the news to my advisor that I would be moving at the end of the semester, he seemed pretty upset and asked me to reconsider. He's not married so I could be projecting here... but I feel like he can't empathize with this situation. In any case, he gave me a pretty long lecture about how academia is a lifestyle and how changing my priorities at inopportune times could be devastating to my long-term career. I personally feel like this is a bit overboard and ultimately won't affect my decision-making. However, it has been messing with my head and making me feel guilty. My parents unfortunately haven't been too supportive as they are both professors (sigh) who didn't get married until earning tenure. For my friends outside of academia the idea sounds ludicrous but I'm curious to hear opinions from other grad students/budding academics who have perhaps gone though a similar experience or know someone else who has... thoughts?