How to publish or pursue undergrad/post-bach research? How to gain research experience?

CuringNihilism

Hey!

Long time lurker, first time poster. 

I will be applying for Clinical Psych programs come this Fall. 

I have a 3.81 GPA from U of T, 166V 156Q and 5.5AWA, 2 (possibly 3) letter of recommendation. 

But I have NO research experience and desperately need to start volunteering as an R.A. and also begin to conduct some of my own research. 

I also have a media psychology paper that my professor recommended I attempt to publish, but I have NO IDEA how to do this. 

I also have no idea how to begin pursuing my own research. (Yes, I know, clueless lol.) 

My question is can someone offer me some advice on how to begin this process? I will be applying for RA volunteering positions. but what else can I do to begin my own research?

Thank you. 

It sounds like you have a really strong academic background which is great! From my understanding, the only way you can really do your own research is through whatever lab you end up working in.

I ended up taking two years off after undergrad and working full time as a lab coordinator which helped me immensely ( I graduated 2016 and applied for Fall 2018). I was really hesitant to take time off but I am so thankful that I did, so I would probably recommend something like that. Spending more time in a lab allows you to do more posters and hopefully get some publications. You really need a mentor to walk you through the publication process because it's confusing and can take a really long time. 

You can always start volunteering in a lab and try to apply this coming Fall and see what happens! More research experience just makes you more competitive and gives you a lot more flexibility in terms of choosing programs. Assuming you're talking about clinical psych PhD programs. 

9 hours ago, CuringNihilism said:

Hey!

I have a 3.81 GPA from U of T, 166V 156Q and 5.5AWA, 2 (possibly 3) letter of recommendation.