Research Experience Before Applying to Programs

costigan95

Thanks in advance.

I graduated in the fall with a 3.53 GPA, BS in Sociology (Criminology) and a minor in History, from a Land Grant Public Research University.  My plan for much of my undergrad career was to attend law school, but I always considered a graduate program in history. Now, after working at a law firm as a research assistant for several months, I am refocusing on a graduate program in history, as that is where my instincts and heart are taking me. I would like to pursue a PhD, as academia is one of my more focused goals.

My question is whether private legal research, separate from a University, will be appealing to a PhD program? I passed up a research position at my school for the legal job, as I thought it would help me more with law school (and money). Now I am wondering if I have shot myself in the foot... I have a lot of research paper experience from UG with my Sociology degree, and was just shy of a dual degree with History, so I have quite a few classes on my transcript. I would like to get in to a really good program, but worry I don't have enough academic research experience, at least that I can put on a CV. 

My Alma mater has a strong graduate (MA and PhD)  history program, that isn't ridiculously expensive. I wonder if an MA would make me a more appealing candidate under the circumstances? Any recommendations are welcome :)

Since your alma mater has a MA and PhD program, why don't you ask your History professors for their thoughts on your level of preparation for history PhD admissions?  You didn't mention languages, so I am guessing you are interested in US history?