How to find undergrad research?

I am a sophomore student interested in ML/AI and in a CS rank top 10 school of US. This semester I began to find research for summer and the following years but no professor would like to take me. I have taken two grad courses and several upper level undergrad courses and I think my GPA is fine. What should I do then? How you guys find such chances?

@machinesupportsvector

You can apply to an Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU). https://www.nsf.gov/crssprgm/reu/list_result.jsp?unitid=5049

I  think most deadlines have passed but since you are a sophomore you can always apply next summer.

There are tons of research opportunities you can also try to apply at a national lab.

Edited by ray92
forgot tag

• 3 weeks later...

Hi @machinesupportsvector

If all REUs that you find require citizenship, I recommend you continue to reach out to your professors. In your department, ask professors what might be the requirements in order for an undergraduate student to participate in their research. If they would like you to have further preparation, ask if in the future you may be able to reach out to them when you have acquired such preparation. You should also try and reach out to professors and research groups in different departments such as the Electrical Engineering department. Many departments outside of EECS may also looking to hire a students from the EECS departments to assist in their research.