professor-student relationship?

Has anyone ever had professors flirting with them? It's definitely unprofessional and crosses boundaries, but is it normal to feel mutual attraction between you and a professor? Why would a professor flirt with their student? It's really awkward and a little uncomfortable.

Um. No. I work really closely with many male profs (I am female and straight) and have thankfully never felt that. I have also never felt that from a female prof, either. That would be very, very wrong and uncomfortable. Very unprofessional, as I am still an undergrad and they would either be teaching me or overseeing my thesis. My one advisor is old enough to be my grandfather. He's a mentor and would never cross that line - ever, ever, ever. If you are feeling this and don't know what to do, I would consider confiding in a superior that you DO trust - perhaps the head of your program if that person will listen. This is not acceptable.

No its not normal and I've seen it get both the grad student and the professor booted out of the institution before. As far as why professors flirt, some of them just like to toss their proverbial fishing lines out in the water and troll for some ass, some have a horrible relationship or marriage that they are currently in, and some just don't give a damn. Either way stay far far away from it.

My university is very small, so is my department. I've never seen anything like this and no one has ever mentioned anything like this (doesn't mean it hasn't happened).

Each August at the beginning of the new school year, the grad students and profs come together for new grad student orientation. They go through the usual do's and don'ts of grad school. They always save the sexual harassment speech for last, but it is the longest part of the program.