Area of psych you do undergrad research in matter?

sab002

I’m currently an undergrad that’s about to transfer from a Community College to (maybe) the university of Illinois. While scrolling through the research labs, they seem to be focused on infant/child development or social psychology, meanwhile I hope to get a phd in clinical. I’m wondering if doing research in something like child psychology will hurt my chances of getting into a PhD program, and if I should reconsider where I attend? Also, how beneficial is doing independent research/writing a bachelors thesis? Sorry for infiltrating this grad forum but I couldn’t think of a better place to get an honest answer, thanks!

Depending on what your research interests are, you could still find opportunities at Illinois. The neuroscience labs might be a better option for going into clinical psychology if you can't get into any of the clinical psychology labs as an undergraduate; however, the important thing is that you have research experience and understand research methods. Independent research with a thesis will give you an advantage over quite a few applicants, especially if you happen to get your thesis published under a graduate student's manuscript. Feel free to PM me with any questions! I'm about to graduate from Illinois.