Best overview of analytic philosophy to read for a soon-to-be MA student?

jukeboxhero

I'm planning on starting an MA program in the fall. My background isn't primarily in philosophy, so I would like to spend some time between now and the fall trying to get up to speed on contemporary analytic philosophy. I'm currently reading 'Philosophy: a guide through the subject' edited by A.C. Grayling. I've found it a great introduction to analytic philosophy so far, and once I finish it, I would love to dig into a slightly more advanced (but not overwhelming!) overview of contemporary analytic philosophy. Does anyone have any book recommendations? 

20 minutes ago, jukeboxhero said:

I'm planning on starting an MA program in the fall. My background isn't primarily in philosophy, so I would like to spend some time between now and the fall trying to get up to speed on contemporary analytic philosophy. I'm currently reading 'Philosophy: a guide through the subject' edited by A.C. Grayling. I've found it a great introduction to analytic philosophy so far, and once I finish it, I would love to dig into a slightly more advanced (but not overwhelming!) overview of contemporary analytic philosophy. Does anyone have any book recommendations? 

There’s a book called “Philosophy for Graduate Students” that I found helpful as a review of some important areas (epistemology, metaphysics, mind, etc.). It’s available on Amazon. For political philosophy, you can’t beat Kymlicka’s Contemporary Political Philosophy.

12 hours ago, machineghost said:

There’s a book called “Philosophy for Graduate Students” that I found helpful as a review of some important areas (epistemology, metaphysics, mind, etc.). It’s available on Amazon. For political philosophy, you can’t beat Kymlicka’s Contemporary Political Philosophy.